Board of Education » Meet the Board

Meet the Board

Bayfield School District 10 Jt-R

Board of Education

Janie Hoover
Phone:970-884-3207 Cell: 970-946-3879

Janie was born in West Texas, however she is proud to call Bayfield home for the last 27 years. Her husband James is a native of Bayfield and graduated from Bayfield High School. Janie has 4 children , Rylie and Preston who currently attend Bayfield Middle School, and Kayla and Elizabeth whom both graduated from Bayfield High School. Janie is a small business owner of Bayfield Insurance and has been an insurance agent for the last 18 years.
Janie enjoys being an active member in the community and feels very fortunate to live in such a caring and supportive community. It is important to her that the Board of Education support the Staff and Administrators of Bayfield School District so that they can meet the needs of all students regardless of their academic or career plans, and to prepare them for their futures. She also feels that it is important to inspire and support each student's individual development. It is a honor to represent the students, staff, and community of this district who continually strive to achieve greatness!

Carol Blatnick
Vice President
Phone: 970-884-2884

Carol has been the Executive Director of Bayfield Early Education Programs for the past fourteen years.  She has spent all of her adult life as an educator. She taught child development and other FACS classes and sponsored numerous student organizations for 27 years at both Bayfield and Durango High Schools. She is a graduate of Colorado State University with a B.S. degree in Family and Consumer Sciences and has done masters work at CSU and other Colorado colleges. Her children Lara, Andy, and Katy and a granddaughter, Meghan, are all graduates of Bayfield High School. Carol enjoys being an active part of the community.  Before being a Bayfield School District Board member she served eight years on the Town Board.  She is active in the Pine River Rotary, the Early Childhood Council, the League of Women Voters, the Ignacio and Bayfield CTE Advisory committees and is an elder at Calvary Presbyterian Church.  She and her sisters manage the family farm in Yuma County where they grow corn and wheat.  When possible she likes to travel, read, attend concerts and enjoy movies. 

Daniele Hillyer
Phone: 970-884-8366

My name is Daniele Hillyer I am very honored to serve and represent our community on the Bayfield School Board.  I am a mother of two, my daughter is a student at Bayfield Middle School, and my son is a third grader at Bayfield Elementary School.  As a member of the board of education I am invested in academic success for all students.  Currently I am teaching preschool age children at Bayfield Early Education Program.  My teaching career started here in Bayfield at the high school as a special education teacher.  I then worked as a special educator in Ignacio at the intermediate/elementary schools.  After having my son I took a temporary position at the elementary school to teach first grade and was there for three years.  My teaching background is helping me make appropriate decisions for the education and future of our students and district.

Mike Foutz
Board Member
Phone: 970-759-6371


Mike Graduated from Ignacio High School and subsequently attended the Colorado School of Mines where he earned a double major in Mining and Civil Engineering in 1986.  Mike and his wife Terene moved to Bayfield in 2004 where Terene coached volleyball at BHS. Mike and Terene’s son John attends BHS and their daughter Maddi graduated from BHS.  Mike’s oldest daughter Jessica lives in Cincinnati.  Mike is a Vice President with FCI Constructors where he has worked since 1996.  In his spare time Mike enjoys sports, motorcycles, the outdoors, and teaching religious education at Saint Bartholomew.

“Our Bayfield Schools are lucky to have a very supportive community, a great group of students, and an excellent staff of teachers and administrators.  Public education is experiencing rapid change and with this change, many challenges and opportunities.  I appreciate the opportunity to represent the community and look forward to helping our district work through these challenges and making the most of the opportunities.

Barb Wickman
Board Member